The Commons has grown from a dream, to a group, then a building, now a creative enterprise.
“The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.”
Since 2004, The Commons has welcomed guests to our 1886 restored building in Eastport’s Historic Downtown. A women owned business, our three partners, are known locally as “The Women of the Commons.” We showcase the work of Maine artists, artisans and authors in our Water Street Shop and new Online Shop,
launched this year. We happily invite you to visit both Shops!
– Linda, Meg and Nancy
Why the oak tree? At The Commons, we love the Oak Tree because it is a symbol of wisdom, strength, morale, and knowledge. It grows slowly, but surely — at its own rate. It is often called The Mighty Oak!
From the Guestbook
Click to Enlarge and Read this Article from Main Street News. Or Download the PDF.
This article by Andrea L. Dono of the Main Street Project, National Trust for Historic Preservation, appeared nationally in the organization’s prestigious newsletter.